‘Beastly’ Drama: involving a pair of sparrows, a cat and me.

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender - Copy (2)

A sparrow and his mate

Sat in the sun and ate

Juicy worms and stuff.

Came a cat’s hungry purr

There was a hurried whirr

The pair fled, feathers and fluff.

The cat stalked in there,

With his tail in the air,

All nonchalant and bluff.

Finding himself alone,

he gave a baffled moan,

and vanished in a huff.

All this ‘beastly’ drama,

I watched pro forma.

Then I got up to go, a trifle gruff!

FullSizeRender - Copy (3)FullSizeRender - Copy

 

Note:

One day, I saw this sparrow pair and photographed them; on another, I came upon a cat near the same spot; he seemed shocked to have encountered me (a stranger to him) and bounded away. 

I recollected the fellows today, made up a scene, and wrote the above (supposedly light-hearted) poem. Hope you enjoyed it. At any rate, I am pretty certain you liked the photos!

The colourful one is the male sparrow, in case you are wondering.

Leave a Reply

