A Bit of Humour in What I Write

A bit of humour in what I write

I reckoned would be just (and) right

But how was I to know I’d get into spots tight

a lot oftener than I thought I might?

No longer airy about penning verse light,

I tread that road wary and contrite.

 

I want to create something funny and bright,

Nothing that puts a fright or throws a blight!

But, every time I set to work, I turn quite distrait

Laughing is easier than making others laugh, I own straight!

My brain almost cracks under the strain every night,

Never mind, for a word to make you smile, be it ever so slight,

A pretty goal to keep in sight,

And I pursue it with (a pale) delight!

 

 

Leave a Reply

